Latest: BPNG AGM and election of officers will be held via zoom. See about us section for information on standing for...... more


The current committee were voted in at the AGM held on 21st September 2016

Sarah Zeraschi - Consultant Pharmacist - Nutrition, Leeds Teaching Hospitals Trust
Sarah has worked in the NHS for the last 18 years in a number of roles including nutrition support pharmacist and aseptic services manager. Sarah is currently Consultant Nutrition Pharmacist at Leeds Teaching Hospitals, working with adult and paediatric patients with intestinal failure. sarah is also BAPEN representative for the Yorkshire and Humber region.

Vice Chairman
Venetia Simchowitz - Senior Specialist Pharmacist, Great Ormond Street Hospital
Venetia is Senior Specialist Pharmacist in Clinical Nutrition at Great Ormond Street in London, having worked there since 2002. She is the sole pharmacist member of the ESPGHAN/ESPEN/ESPR working party, and has written the GI and nutrition chapter of the NPPG PICU guidelines.

Honorary Treasurer
Tony Murphy
Tony was Aseptic Services Manager at UCLH for 40 years, retiring in 2020. Since then he has been undertaking consultancy work for Great Ormond Street Hospital.

Priya Mistry - Specialist Pharmacist Nutrition, Southampton University Hospital
Priya joined the committee at the last AGM. Prior to her role at Southampton, Priya was specialist pharmacist in nutrition and pseudomyxoma peritonii at Basingstoke.

Education Officer
Ruth Newton - Nutrition Pharmacist and lead for Medical Education, Countess of Chester Hospital
Ruth has been on the executive committee of the BPNG since 1996 in a number of roles. As education and training officer she also chaired BAPEN's education and training committee and ran the Making Nutrition Teams Work, the "Grasmere course". Ruth's technical expertise has also been utilised as a teacher for several years on the PTQA course. Prior to her current role, Ruth was production pharmacist and lead in nutrition at the University Hospital of North Staffordshire.

Jackie Eastwood - Homecare Lead, London Region
Jackie has been on the executive committee since 2004, and is immediate past chair hainvg been vice chair prior to that. Jackie has worked in the NHS, initially in Leeds and then at St Marks as the pharmacy manager. She has a particular interest in HPN and intestinal failure and teaches regularly. She is currently on secondment.

Education Support - Co-opted
Tim Sizer - Regional Pharmacist for Quality Assurance (South West)

Tim was one of the founding members fo the BPNG and a past chair. He was a member of the Kings Fund Working Party on Clinical Nutrition (1990-92) which led to the formation of BAPEN.

Publications Editor
Professor Gil Hardy

Gil is part chair, past treasurer and honorary life member of the BPNG. Between 2004 and 2015 was professor of pharmaceutical nutrition and director for the AnQual stablity testing laboratory in the School of Pharmacy at Aukland Univeristy in New Zealand. He is currently chairman of the International Clinical Nutrition Section (ICNS) of ASPEN.

Development officer - Paediatrics

Development officer - Adults

Communications Officer
Rebecca White - Medical Affairs Manager, Baxter Healthcare

Becky has been on the executive committee since 1996, serving as secretary, education officer, vice chair and chair. Prior to her move to the pharamaceutical industry Becky worked in the NHS for 20 years, latterly as Consultant Pharmacist in Nutrition at Oxford Hospitals Trust. She is editor and author of the BPNG Handbook of Drug Adminsitration via Enteral Feeding Tubes.

Co-opted Member
Prof Mike Allwood - Director, BTSL Ltd

Mike has been BPNG committee member and past secretary for more than 20 years. He was professor of pharmacy at Derby University until retirement in 2001. His research interests focussed on stablity and safe adminsitration of PN. He is currently Director at BSTL, a nottingham based laboratory provideing stability testing services to the NHS and industry.

R&D Lead
This position is currently vacant.